Losing My Religion

21 07 2009

Well, people what can I say?  I am going to provide you with a little bit more honesty that I know some people may crucify me for.  But, oh well!  You know I don’t mine going to church at all and actually I enjoy it.  I don’t get the opportunity to attend on Sundays because I work, so I try to make Bible Study.  I am not always successful in my attempt to make it because somtime things come up and the other part I am just plain out lazy sometimes.

I attended church when I was younger but I can’t really say I was brought up in the church like most people I know.  I wasn’t going church hoping, hanging with church members after church (those extremely long pow wows), going to service constantly and attending all of the other church activities or functions that you can think of.  Don’t get me wrong, I have nothing against anybody who does.  I know Tee was brought up in church and her family basically lived there and would spend the night sometimes.  Heck, I always joke but they prayed until they saw Jesus Christ in the flesh.  They were serious!

Well, people that is just not me.  I don’t mine going like I mentioned but I don’t want to do morning service… then afternoon service…then revival next three days…then pastor’s anniversary…then youth services…etc.  Maybe that is wrong and if so just pray for me but that is how I feel though.  Heck, sometimes these things are all in one week!  I heard the pastor say that church is the best place to be (I agree BUT) and kids need to be there because they can stay out of trouble. 

Now I want to spend time with my kids and it’s just us and not the whole congregation and I am in one room and they are in another.  Sometimes I just do not want to go to church that much.  I do not want it to consume my entire schedule for the week.  I just pick and choose what I want to attend.  Once again, maybe that is wrong but that is what I do.  It’s like this, for example, I want to put my children in soccer but it is on Wednesdays’ evenings  but that conflict with Bible Study.  The games are on the same days they practice and this would be a great time for me because I would be able to see them play in the game and attend all the practices.  Well, I said I would put them into basketball again but the games and practices are on Saturdays, plus I would have to get my people (family) to take them.  My whole purpose of their extracircurilator is for them to have something of their own.  My first thought is to put Bible Study to the back and I don’t think I am wrong for that or alternate days between Bible Study and soccer. 

Now, I am not saying church is unimportant.  NO, that is not it at all but I just don’t want to be there all the time.  I know I have to be an example to my children and I know they are watching, so I try to be aware of my behavior or attitude.  One day I didn’t go to Bible Study and I was just flat out being defiant and was upset that particular day.  I asked my son why he didn’t go to church and he said he wanted to be with me.  I thought to myself like I got to change this because I don’t want him to not want to go.  I had to force this boy to go to our church’s conference.  Please believe me people I am trying to send the right message BUT with that said I still don’t want to be in there all day or most of the week.

Church is important by all means.  Some blessing can only be received by going to church.  The Lord want us to fellowship with each other.  What’s that verse?  When one or more gather in my name I shall be there…etc.  Yeah, I know that is not the verse correctly but you  know the scripture.   That’s doesn’t mean that I am not taking any time out of my life to be with the Lord or pray.  This is not a justification by any means but we focus on the physical building itself and not the church that lies within us.

This is to switch gears some, so walk with me for a little while because I am going to wrap it up.  You know I personally don’t get off into denominations like that.  I am not saying if you do then something is wrong with you.  It just never been my focus.  I grew up Baptist for the most part of my life, I am not a current member of a  Baptist’s church but that don’t mean that I think their theological teaching are wrong either.  I go where I am lead to go.  Some of us keep the same denomination because that is the way we were raised and not so much that we believe in it or truly submerged into the Word and have a spiritual understanding of that denomination.  Now, I can’t speak too much but honestly I am ignorant to most of the Word.  See finding God or whoever you believe in is up to you and not mama, papa or your spouse.  So many times some of us stay at the same church we grew up in because it is like the sitcom “Cheers”.  Okay, not a bar but it is a place that everybody knows your name and it has a familiarity that we can go against the grain at certain times and we really don’t have accountabilityfor our action so much.  At times, we may feel as if we own or have some stake in the church because our grandfather/grandmother or great, great grandparents paved the way and our lineage runs so deep that we are personally invested in the church that it is apart of our inhertiance.  Yeah, it varies so I am not generalizing but we just have to make sure it is a place we are suppose to be verses a place (church) we were raised in and a denomination that we have inherit through meiosis.


Actions

Information

7 responses

21 07 2009
nails4martyrs

Thanks for sharing about your religious history. I’m interested in hearing what you think “religion” is, if you can put an objective definition on it.

22 07 2009
art937

Nails4martyrs, thanks for reading my blog. Please excuse the mistakes b/c I don’t go over anything. Just don’t feel like it b/c I did enough of that in college but I do understand it can killed your ideas with messed up grammar. Anyway, I will give an attempt in the future soon for you. Well, I will try and explain it objectively the best I can. Remember this will be my own opinion.

22 07 2009
beans3bk

Sometimes you scare me, lol. No I feel you, I like to go to church to worship with others who believe. I know people that sleep at the church too. I am active in my church because I love it but I still am not sitting there every time the door opens. I make my kids go because they need a foundation so when they get older they will have something to stand on. At times I think we as christians spend too much time in the church together instead of being outside in the world preaching to those who don’t know God. I don’t get caught up in church work, I am more in tune to the work of the true church. I love evangelism. Not all the way there yet, but God is seriuosly working on me so we shall see. I do feel you at times. We went to evening service Sunday because my son was playing the drums and I was so tired but I am glad we went it was a blessing to me. Hang in there and do as much as you can for the Lord because you know what he has done for you!!!

22 07 2009
art937

Yeah Beans, I just speak my mind or express my feelings and sometimes it may not be the right thing to say. Regardless it is the way I feel. This is an old blog but I just finished it up and I still at times have some of those same feelings. Truth be told I have not been extremely active in any church that I attended. Life have kept me busy and like I mentioned before the other part is me being lazy. Now, my children attend all the time and that is because of there mother and I am at work on Sundays. I am so blessed because she goes and take them all the time. I am so happy you don’t get caught up in church’s work. You know it is strange because when I don’t feel like attending and go, afterwards I am so happy that I did not miss. It’s strange and hard to explain. I just try to express some of my real feelings without watering them down because the way some people my view me. At this point in my life I am okay if I am viewed a certain way. Like I mentioned in the blog, if I am wrong and have the wrong feelings just pray for me. It is strange because I would hate for God to wake up and say I just don’t feel like being bothered with you Will and take HIS hands from me. Whew! Too much for me and I am glad I serve a God of mercy. Thanks Beans!

22 07 2009
beans3bk

He wants us to be honest you arent the only one that feels that way. You know I like giving you the blues anyway. He is in the blessin business he works on us even when we don’t feel like. Stay Strong.

22 07 2009
JM (aka Brain)

Crazy thing about church these days is the cell phone. We didn’t have that growing up. We’d sneak in our GI Joes, or get a pen and write all over the program. Nowadays they got cell phones with internet. You can literally be sitting in church, watching another (cooler) church on your cell phone. lol. Church collection plate come around you just hold up your phone and say,”I just paid online”

Times have changed bruh.

22 07 2009
beans3bk

Some churchs have ATMs in them, or do direct withdrawl for you tithes, like a bill

Leave a comment